When It’s Hard To Hear His Voice.

Have you ever prayed for something for a long time and didn’t hear a clear answer on what you should do? Have you ever felt like God was distant? Or that your prayers are just words disappearing into thin air? Has it been hard lately to hear His voice?

In my life, God has spoken to me in different ways. I have felt His voice in my dreams, in visions, through people, in His word, and many times during musical worship. He always shows up in different ways. And I have found that the moments that I heard Him were the moments that I was focusing my life on seeking Him. That is when we can hear His voice. When we are pursuing His presence and His power. If we aren’t, we get distracted by all the other voices talking into our ears. How can we tell those voices apart when we are paying more attention to the voices of this world?

I have this devotional that was published in 1962 by an author named Eugenia Price. For May 23, she writes about the darkness that we may be engulfed in that keeps us away from God.

We can either be chasing darkness or God’s light. God’s light is always there, darkness cannot overpower the light. Light breaks through the darkness. But sometimes, we can turn our backs to the light and pretend it’s not there. We may be intrigued and interested in the mystery of the darkness. It may not hold good things, but we walk further and further away from the light to explore the darkness.

Maybe the reason that we can’t hear God’s voice is because something in your life is casting a shadow. What is standing in the way of His light in your life? We have to get rid of that something. There can’t be any distractions. We can hear voices all around us everyday telling us to do this and do that. Focus on Jesus and you will find His voice.

John 1:5- The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

One comment

  1. a soul · May 24, 2015

    I love your post. I agree with everything you wrote. I have experienced God’s presence in many ways, too, especially in music. I would like to invite you to visit my blog MaryRefugeOfHolyLove. I have some personal writings in which I reflect on how different songs have affected my soul. I love to praise and pray to God through music. This might sound silly, but I love to sing to God for hours on end. I love loving God through music. God bless!

Leave a Reply

