A Lonely Road.

We don’t want to feel lost. It hurts. It stings. We can’t see where we’re going. When we feel lost, we often run to the closest thing to us because it’s somewhere. We’ve been stumbling around for too long to walk aimlessly any longer. So we see a place to stop along the path we’ve been walking on for days. It may not be what we were searching for but at least it is a place to belong.

I think that we have all experienced this in our lives. We have felt lost in an area of our lives. The thing that blows my mind is that we can feel alone in so many aspects of our lives. Sometimes, we feel lonely in a crowded room. Sometimes, we feel lonely in a friendship or relationship. Sometimes, we feel lonely in our families. Sometimes, we just feel lonely in our minds. I know that I’ve been there. It sucks. And when you are in that place of complete and utter loneliness, it feels like there is no way out.

When I have felt loneliness in my life, I always hear the word wilderness from someone or something I see/read. This word is so significant to me because I have felt like I am in the wilderness in my loneliness. Tired and alone. Lost and insecure. Not knowing where to go or if I’d ever find a way out. Yes, I’ve always had friends and a loving family, but that doesn’t mean that there hasn’t been times in my life where I feel different. I feel set apart, like there is a distance between me and others. I can see it. There is a path that stretches longer and longer as I venture deeper and deeper into the wilderness.

Like I said before, sometimes, we just pick a random stop on the way. In some instances, it might be a friend or a person that is there as a safety net. You know that you don’t believe what they do or want to be involved in some of the things they may do, but you choose to stick with them so you’re not alone. Maybe its not even a person. Maybe its drinking, drugs, sex, spending money, watching Netflix… I don’t know! But let me just say this: no company is better than bad company. Don’t fill yourself up with things to get rid of the loneliness. Those things or those people will only make that loneliness sting more.

I am so glad to say that while I feel alone sometimes here on earth, I always know that I am not. There is a still, soft voice that is always with me. A heart that I long to draw nearer to with every step I take, even when I’m lost. This voice is a Heavenly Father who never lets go even if it doesn’t feel like He is there. I know He is.

Someone once told me to prepare for the wilderness. They said that I needed to embrace it and hold tightly to who I was and to who God is. That was the only way I could get out. Being in the wilderness feels like the worst thing that could ever happen to us. In my experience, I’m thankful for the wilderness that I’ve been lost in. When I’m bruised and beaten and tired from venturing all by myself, that, my friends, is when I learned to lean on Jesus and who He is. His Word is a lamp for my feet and a light to my path. His love is constant when the rest of the world is not. The wilderness brings me closer to Him.

If you feel like you are in the wilderness, I encourage you not to be sad about it anymore. This is a time where you can learn who you are and how to cling to Your Heavenly Father as a Christ Follower. Set your priorities straight while you don’t have any distractions. Be ready for the world and what life will throw at you because I’m telling you, there is a light at the end of the tunnel that will lead you out of that wilderness. It may seem long and never-ending, but it is but a blink of an eye for eternity. Be joyful in all circumstances, that is what God’s Word says. Don’t let these moments draw you away from Him. It is very easy to feel pity for yourself and want to give up. But please, don’t. Keep going. You have a friend with you the whole way.

            Cling to Him. Even if you feel like He isn’t there, I promise you He is.

Psalm 119:105- Your word is a lamp for my feet,
    a light on my path.

1 Thessalonians 5:18- give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

