To (EVERY) day.

Snow days are my favorite things about winter. I love that feeling of joy that I get when I hear the phone ring way before my alarm is supposed to ring or when my mom comes in and tells me to turn my alarm off. I guess I just don’t like my alarm clock. Maybe, just maybe, it doesn’t like me either.

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 10.14.59 AM

Do you ever hope and wish and pray for a day off? For a 3-day weekend? I’ve found myself hoping for a snow day so often because I don’t want to face the next day and get out of bed. Now let me say that snow days are a blessing and I am in NO WAY saying that they are bad… but I’ve been wishing and longing for too many days off. I started thinking about that. How much I want to just sit home and do nothing and sleep and watch Netflix… How many of us have been there? (All of our hands go up)!

For me, I personally looked over my desires of my life and how I take on each day. On those days when I am so tired that I contemplate calling a “sick day”, I think about what I’m asking for… And the effect it has on the day at hand.

For me, that is like asking God if we can have a day off of opportunities and responsibilities to be a light and show love to others. Every day we have a mission and a ministry in whatever season of life we are in and wherever God has placed us. And if we don’t know when Jesus is coming back, we can’t afford too many days off.

Rest is important, but don’t confuse that for laziness. I’ve been so tired lately that I keep hoping and praying for snow days… But why would I ask God, who I love and live for, to give me a day off of living out His plan and purpose? I just took a step back and saw how lazy and disrespectful that sounded to me. I didn’t want my relationship with God to be like that. I didn’t want to serve only when I felt like it or only when I got a good night’s sleep. It’s my job everyday to wake up and live for Jesus, to go where He calls me. That is what I signed up for and that is why I gave my heart to Him. I know that my life, everyday, has a purpose to point to Jesus. How can I do that if I’m at home on the couch or in bed watching Netflix or sleeping all day?

I’ve been blessed with good health and a body that works and can get up and walk to my car that drives me to school. I have food in the morning and coffee to help my eyes stay open on that drive to school. I have the opportunity to go to school and learn. But most importantly, I have a mission field everyday to share the love of Jesus Christ to my peers.

What if I stay home one day and I miss a really cool opportunity to share about Jesus with someone?

In order to do avoid these early morning blues, I’ve been trying to sleep more. Getting to bed and resting is so important to taking care of yourself. And as silly as it sounds, it really is your part in contributing to God’s Kingdom… Because in a way, how you take care of yourself can affect how you go about in the world.

Get sleep, get the nutrition you need and get filled up with Jesus when you take on each day. It’s important to get filled up with what you need so you can help fill others up with the love and hope you have in Jesus Christ. He wants to do so much through your life. What a privilege that is.

All in all, don’t take advantage of your days. They’re numbered.

Ephesians 5:16- …making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

Leave a Reply

