Telling Stories

It was surreal coming out of the water. When I was completely engulfed in the water, it felt like time had stopped and I just looked around and had a moment with God. I was just with Him. This moment cannot be described on paper, or in this case, on your digital screen. Being baptized is something that I’ve seen but did not completely know how important it is until I actually experienced it.

My testimony was so short because I couldn’t fit it all on one paper. There is so much more that God has done in my life but they’re all those small details… I love those details because they all tie into a story. And that is what I need to share everyday, not just that one day.
While writing my testimony that would be read before I was baptized, I was so paranoid that my testimony wasn’t perfect or good enough for that moment. The sentences were too choppy, I couldn’t put into words what God has done over the past year, and I ended up repeatedly erasing everything I had attempted to write.
Then I remembered something that I had learned about baptism; I don’t need to be perfect or put together to be baptized. That was a lie the devil had been telling me for years and I finally realized that I was never gonna have it all together. That is impossible. I need God to hold me together everyday of my life. And that is what my testimony was. It is not picture-perfect and it is long with a lot of details. I messed up a lot. The road has been long and at times dreary. But God held me together all this time and continued to work in my life throughout the troubled times. That was what I needed to say.
Baptism is an amazing decision you can make in your life. But I’ve realized, over the past few days, that it is what happens afterwards that is when you faith is really put in the spotlight. The devil has really been attacking me just in these past few days. I got baptized 4 days ago. And here I am, already feeling the weight of temptation. Theres temptation everyday, but the decisions are more real to me now because of my perspective. My proclamation was true Sunday morning, so am I going to live that way? I sure am trying to!
Tell your story.
 I grew up in a Christian home and have known Jesus my whole life. I never thought my story was significant or worth a listen. But when you give your life to Christ, completely surrendering your desires and heart, He will do mighty things in your life. He will write your story. He is writing your story right now. Share it. People love to hear stories. Its something that draws us together. We can share experiences with each other, laughter with each other, advice with each other, love with each other. This is something God has given you to use for His kingdom. If you think you can’t do anything and don’t know how to contribute to God’s Kingdom, the answer is simple. Share your story. The testimony you share could birth many new testimonies of how Jesus moves in others’ lives.
Romans 6:4 
We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.
Matthew 28:19-20
Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.
Acts 1:8
But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.
Ephesians 2:10
For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.
Philemon 1:6
And I pray that the sharing of your faith may become effective for the full knowledge of every good thing that is in us for the sake of Christ.
One comment

  1. Ethel Bartlett · December 11, 2014

    Remember the scripture you posted, Sweetie, Matt 28:20. “And behold I am with you always….” You are such a bright light of Christ, the enemy hates it. Focus on God being with you and our love and prayers surrounding you and you are going to do great things with your testimony! Words can’t express how proud we are of the godly woman you are! Much love and hugs!

Leave a Reply

