How To Change The World.

Sunday night, as I was preparing for a long week of school starting that next day, I was reflecting on how I was doing and where I was at. I think its important that we do that every once in a while. Its important to always know who you are, what we are doing, and why we are doing whatever it is we are doing.

So as I was thinking, I recalled how many times I had complained that day. The more I really thought about it, the more times I remembered me complaining. Why is it so easy to complain? Seriously, I get caught in that “complaining mode” too often. It becomes apart of our personalities and our conversations as we sit there and talk about how hungry we are and how cold it is and how tired we are and how much homework we have… It is very sad.

Something you probably hear a lot is “Live like its your last day on earth” or something like that. We hear it all the time. But I have never connected that saying to my words. I have never thought about my last words. If I knew that I had one day to live, what would I say to everyone? Those moments would be precious and I wouldn’t want to waste time with small talk. And I definitely wouldn’t be complaining. I would be telling people how much I love them and any advice or regrets I had in my life. I would want people to learn from my life and lead a great one, not hear my complaining and me feeling sorry for myself.

Your words are so influential. They change the course of this world everyday. How you treat someone will effect them for the rest of their life because its one domino that will start a chain reaction. Whether or not you think your small talk with someone at school or at work is meaningless, you need to realize that everything you say is meaningful. So make it good.

This week, I’ve been trying not to complain as much and think more positively throughout my days at school. It has been difficult to steer clear of those complaints that are always on the tip of my tongue. But what God has shown me through that is to think, really think, about the words I’m saying. I don’t want people to think that I am a complainer and I have nothing good in my life. I have so many good things in my life. God is always good. My family is amazing. My friends are always there for me. I have food, water, clothes, a house…The list goes on. Why am I complaining? Because I didn’t get enough sleep last night because I stayed up too late? Why poison the air with negative comments about something that was my fault?

Our words portray many things. Our hearts, our character, but also our God. If you say that you are Christian, people are listening to your words in all kinds of different situations. Do you realize the power you have with your words?

God needs you to represent your faith well because others that don’t know Him are looking to you for answers. If you’re seen complaining, why would they want what you have with Jesus? Or they will hear that and go ahead and complain with you. Complaining is very contagious.

I want to challenge you to think, really think, about your words the rest of this week and this weekend. Always remember that they can change the world.

Ephesians 4:29

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

Matthew 15:18

But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person.

Matthew 12:36

I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak,

Leave a Reply

