Thankfulness.

Today is Black Friday. Yesterday was Thanksgiving. I don’t particularly care for Black Friday because I have never participated in this day. But today, I wanted to talk about thankfulness. Yes, we all talked a lot about this yesterday but why do we need to stop when the holiday is over?

We all sat around the table or our living rooms and talked about what we were thankful for; our family, our friends, our jobs, our homes, our food, our financial state, our significant others, our abilities, and the list goes on. Yesterday, I was thinking about all the things that I was thanking God for and why I was thanking Him for all this stuff. He has given me a great family, a home, food, clothes to put on my back, water, and a solid church family. But I have so many other stuff that I was thankful for yesterday as well… Money, my phone, my heated blanket… the list goes on of ridiculous things.

The more I thought about it, I thought about how many things I take advantage of everyday. Then I thought about if those things were gone in an instant… Then what would I be thankful for? If I didn’t have food everyday, would I be thanking God? If I didn’t have clothes to keep me warm this winter, would I be praising Him? And would I be greatful to my Heavenly Father if I didn’t have my awesome family? Then I remembered something one of my small group leaders told me once,

“If God didn’t do anything else for us starting now, we would still have countless reasons to thank Him. He died for us. He loves us. He forgives us. His mercies are new everyday.”

I am so thankful for that because I mess up everyday.

What if instead of clinging to all the things we’re thankful for (too much food, clothes, games, music, heated blankets, shoes) we give it to others that need it. That truly shows we are thankful for it because it can bless someone else with them.

Some people don’t have blankets or ways to keep warm and I’m sure we all have more than enough blankets in our homes. Others don’t have food and we have plenty and we know that! Its even important to think of those without families out there, that don’t have anyone to share special moments with like we all did yesterday. What if we could adopt and give someone a family?

Instead of clinging to these things, lets give them away. If God has blessed you before, don’t worry, He will continue to keep blessing you. Clinging to these things doesn’t show that we are thankful but dependent on these things and God doesn’t call us to love these earthly things. They’re temporary. We need to depend on Him because He is more than enough.

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday with your familes and friends and continue to be thankful everyday!

Colossians 3:15-17

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

1 Corinthians 1:4

I thank my God always on your behalf, for the grace of God which is given you by Jesus Christ.

Philippians 4:6

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Leave a Reply

