Walking on Water.

On Thursday mornings I get the privilege to pray with amazing Christian friends before school starts outside of our cafeteria. We gather in a circle and thank God for the day and what He is doing in our school, but we also ask God to do more of His will in our school.

Today, my friend Jesse was having a conversation with God and He was remembering how this morning he was reading about Jesus and Peter walking on the water. He prayed that we could all do the same in our schools, that we could let go of doubt and fear to walk on the water, because we all have them.

Many of us have our own story of “walking out on water”. Whether you were one who stepped out and walked with faith, stepped out and let fear pull you under the waves, or you even were a disciple that stayed in the boat. We often forget about those people but are often exactly like them when we are faced with the decision to step out of a boat.

Could you imagine what the story would have looked like if Peter had walked out to Jesus and stood there with Him without falling? What could have happened? Would the other disciples have walked out with him as well?

We might find ourselves asking that same question. What could have happened? What if I had stepped out of the boat? What if I had trusted in God and kept my eyes on Him? Would others have seen it and followed?

Maybe I wouldn’t have sunk.

Whatever it is, we are all called out upon the waters. The water is vast and deep. It can be dark or clear (depending on where you are in the world). There may be life boats nearby or you may have to swim. But no matter what anyone tells you, you can walk on water. Whatever that thing is that God calls you to, you can do it. Jesus is calling you. He wouldn’t call you if He didn’t have a plan and a purpose.

Matthew 14:28-31

‘Peter, suddenly bold, said, “Master, if it’s really you, call me to come to you on the water.

He said, “Come ahead.”

Jumping out of the boat, Peter walked on the water to Jesus. But when he looked down at the waves churning beneath his feet, he lost his nerve and started to sink. He cried, “Master, save me!”

Jesus didn’t hesitate. He reached down and grabbed his hand. Then he said, “Faint-heart, what got into you?”’

Oceans became a fear of mine when I had a nightmare as a child. I was in a big pool of water and a shark was swimming underneath a floating device I was seated on and had its mouth open wide ready to chomp down on my little head. I cried out, “Mom! Help! Dad! Help!” But they sat outside the water talking to some friends. They couldn’t hear me, or didn’t want to hear me. And all I could think was I was destined to be engulfed by the water I had wandered out into.

As I grow up, and I wander out onto the water, I don’t always know what is in the water. And my parents aren’t always going to be able to save me. Though I know I’m probably not going to get eaten by a shark, the unknowns are scary.

While the oceans that we are called to may be scary and unknown, there is a God waiting for you with His hand stretched out wide. But you need to step out. Remember in the story how the disciples were caught in a storm when they were in that boat? Sometimes God calls us during storms. When Jesus told Peter to walk out to Him, they were probably all thinking, ‘Now? The waves will knock him over! He could never do it in this kind of storm.’

His timing is perfect. Maybe He wants someone else to see you walk on water.

Whether you choose to be the person in the boat or the one who steps out, there will be people that see your decision. That decision could inspire them. If you walked out on the water and stayed afloat, how could that effect the rest that stand in the boat? Would they step out too?

Don’t grip the sides of the boat and wait for the storm to pass. Walk out to Jesus during the storm. He is calling. Let go of fear. Let go of doubt.

You can walk on water.

Leave a Reply

