Mornings Without Coffee.

IMG_4567Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 4.19.44 PM

Over the summer, I’ve calmed down on my morning coffee routine. I go out for coffee a lot for meetings, but I haven’t been drinking it every morning like I used to. It was such a big priority in my life. Then I heard a conversation had by my Dad and a friend at camp this summer. They were talking about coffee as a source for people. Its something that we cling to and we become obsessed with. So I listened and of course learned something. So here I am writing about it.

Coffee is good. I love it. It is something that brings people together for great conversations and good times. It also tastes pretty good too.

While its good, its an obsession to many people. Even adults. More so for adults than kids. They need to have it to make their day go by smoothly or for them to be in a good mood. It’s something that people rely on to make them happy or even ready to take on the day. It’s the source many people go to and they constantly rely on this drink for energy.

We live in a  fast paced world. Time is always ticking and we’ve always got things to do, people to please. And if we decided to watch TV or hang out with friends late one night then wake up the next morning feeling drowsy, we go to coffee. Its an easy way to lift our spirits and gives us just enough caffeine to get out the door.

Its kind of crazy to think about. That we rely on coffee to keep us awake for meetings, school… to keep our eyes open after we stayed up all night talking to a friend on the phone… to help us study for a big test or presentation… We base our excellence and success in a day based on if we’ve had coffee or not. Because if we don’t get our coffee in the morning, we obviously can’t be a bucket of sunshine. Duh.

Thats the thing. We may say “I am a grump without my coffee” or “You don’t want to talk to me until I’ve had my morning cup of coffee”. Why is this our excuse? So we can be a grump when we haven’t had our cup of coffee?

Our attitude can heavily rely on this simple cup of coffee so much that we mentally think we can’t have a good day without it. It sounds silly but I caught myself thinking that way. Thats what an obsession does to you. It hides into an everyday routine or thing that is normal and quietly elevates itself into an obsession in our lives.

Coffee does wake us up and can keep us awake when we need it to. The downside of drinking coffee everyday is that we become obsessed with this feeling of being perked up by coffee that we are only nice, alert, or energetic about whatever we’re doing because of this substance we inhale everyday. Not because we’re passionate about smiling to people in the morning and working hard at our jobs or at school or doing well on a test.

Do you see what I’m saying?

Don’t go to coffee to fulfill you. Don’t let that be your source of happiness every morning. It’s just a drink that will fade and will only make you want more. Why go to a source that will always run dry?

I’m not telling you to quit drinking coffee. But I’m encouraging you to reflect on why you do what you do every morning when you turn that coffee pot on. When someone told me this, it made me rethink about my eating and drinking habits. Do I get my source of energy from coffee or God every morning? Am I only filled up with coffee or am I filled up with Him before I walk out the door?

Just something to think about.

Matthew 5:6 

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.”

2 comments

  1. Lauren · September 2, 2014

    Hi Olivia! Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE your blog! This sentence really hit me – ‘Don’t go to coffee to fulfill you.’ I love coffee… and lots of other things, and it’s soo easy to be fulfilled by worldly things instead of relying on God for his strength and the energy boosts He provides us when we need them. This post really rung true for me 🙂 x

    • oliviaharmony · September 2, 2014

      It’s really been hitting me a lot lately, how much I depend on wordily things, and I’m glad that these words could encourage you! 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting, it means a lot. Have a wonderful day!!

Leave a Reply

